Peacock Chair Hans J. Wegner

I love Danish furniture.  Hans Wegner started as a cabinet maker who turned Architect and finally started to make furniture.  The Peacock chair is not in our chair list but this blog exercise this summer is not only to stretch my legs for the Salem College Exhibit but also to keep my pencil sharp for next semester.  I am entering my final semester at UNCG in the Interior Architecture Department and although I have been working well with computers I see my drawing skills need to be practiced as well.

The biggest challenge with this chair that students find is their insistence at changing the design.  The exercise is designed to expose them to the designs put down by what we accept as “good” design.  Once we find our  voice and understand what these designers were doing we can take from a few of them with ideas of our own and go our own way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

