Working on Salem College’s new Chair Library website

The Sutton Initiative for Design Education has offered me a unique opportunity to do what I love most.  I am working this summer from home, mostly, on research for a new website.  The research is three fold:

  • Chairs – 47 chairs available in the chair library at Salem College
  • Designers – 30 iconic designers and touching on other accomplishments and design disciplines
  • manufactures 21 manufactures featured as current producers of these chairs.

I love delving into the points behind the points.  By researching this way I am finding connections between designers I hadn’t thought of before.  Companies that produce products that make sense because of similar designer or material or process…  A very interesting internship indeed.


Anyone who has been to my home has seen my living room during research.  Part of my library has been pulled and strewed around to aid in grabbing tidbits from each book or company.  It’s like an easter egg hunt but no one  hid the eggs on purpose.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

