Three Legged Chair (Hans Wegner)

The definition of “Chair” states:

Noun: A separate seat for one person, typically with a back and four legs

Here is a three legged version of a chair from 1963 design by Hans Wegner is more online with the Eames mid-century style than his Peacock chair that I have reviewed previously.  I think one of the things I love about this designer is his ability to vary his style.  From the upholstered Ox to the hand crafted look of the Valet chair his designs are wonderful.

I have worked in Restaurants most of my life and I believe the simplest solutions are most often the best ones.  From my experience in the wood shop the simplest looking solutions are not always as easy to do as they look.

This is a simple form with elegant lines.  The plywood frame and seat are obviously not possible in your typical wood shop without steaming equipment.  The design work looks simple but again working with wood I see the curves and can only imagine how many renditions it took to get this shape.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

