Wheat Back Rocking Chair

I never realized how valuable my knowledge of chairs would be and how close to home it would bring me.  Literally.

This past new years, I was visiting my parents in New York and in their upstairs hallway, I was confronted with a chair that I have seen in our house for most of my life.  What I learned from Brian is that this is a Wheat Back style chair.  In this case, it’s a rocking chair.  This chair has rounded spindles on the back that are held together by a horizontal bar. This style was inspired by the look of gathered wheat from a field and in researching online, I have found that it is a popular chair amongst the Amish.

About Audra Volpi

Lover of architectural history and building design.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wheat Back Rocking Chair

  1. Brian says:

    Cool chair Audra… design is all around us..

Leave a Reply

